Assembly Member Bigelow Unanimously Elected Chair of Legislative Rural Caucus

SACRAMENTO – Today, Assemblyman Frank Bigelow, R-O’Neals, was unanimously elected Chair of the Legislative Rural Caucus. Bigelow takes over the position from outgoing chair Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen, R-Modesto.

“I am honored to be elected chair of the Legislative Rural Caucus by members of the legislature and look forward to providing a stronger voice for rural communities in Sacramento,” Bigelow said. “The needs of rural areas can, and have in the past, been either ignored or not prioritized by the State Legislature. As chair, I will work to ensure that the issues and concerns raised by constituents of rural California are accurately and effectively represented in Sacramento.”
The Rural Caucus works to ensure a voice for rural communities and will serve as a direct avenue for rural residents and organizations to carry their message, concerns, and needs to the entire California State Legislature. The Caucus is comprised of fifty bi-partisan members of the State Assembly and State Senate.
“The rural areas of our state will benefit greatly by having Assemblymember Frank Bigelow serving as this year’s chair of the Legislative Rural Caucus,” said outgoing Rural Caucus chair Assemblymember Kristin Olsen. “Unique healthcare, emergency preparedness and resource needs are vitally important for those who live in our state’s rural areas, and I look forward to continuing to work with Assemblymember Bigelow to make sure their interests are protected.”
Bigelow represents the 5th Assembly District, which encompasses Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, El Dorado, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, and Tuolumne counties and includes Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park.
Learn more about Assemblymember Bigelow here.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email